The Philosophy of Me

The Life and Mind of no one Special

Finally “Dylan Thomas” Is On Track

I finished my second “Dylan Thomas” book about eight months ago. I passed it off to my illustrator, and I was expecting a release date no later than two months from that date. I am sad to say that it has not been completed. I was going to send these two books to agents in hopes I can pick one up, and eventually get signed. My wife did a ton of research and she discovered that you need multiple manuscripts to show you are not a one and done. I found this out about six months ago, and I have been unable to write another one. I have tried and tried, but I could just not do it, until about three weeks ago. I am happy to say I have finally started rolling on the next book. I am currently entrenched in this next installment, and hopefully I can finish it within the next month. If I am able to hit this deadline, then I can start the final manuscript needed to start sending this series off to agents.

Until these next two installments are finished I am not going to say too much about them, but I will say the current manuscript I am working on, and the next one lined up will be my greatest triumph if I am able to pull them off. These two manuscripts will be the ones which get me signed by an agent, then shortly after by a publisher. I am usually a glass is empty sort of thinker, but when it comes to my newest ideas for the “Dylan Thomas” series, I can honestly say without a shadow of doubt that I have never been more certain about my success.

I am set to do readings at my sons’ school for all the kindergarten classes at the end of May. I currently have one book which is completely finished, and as I stated before my illustrator was supposed to have the second one illustrated months ago. I haven’t been pushing him much, but I finally told him I needed the second one completely finished by the end of April. We were supposed to meet two weeks ago to go over his progress, but he backed out. We then set up another meet last week, and I told him that there is not enough time to do any kind of revisions so just use what you have. I just really hope he hits the April 30th deadline. If he doesn’t I am thinking of letting him go. I feel confident that these manuscripts can stand on their own without the illustrations. It is my understanding that if the writer is signed, it is not always a guarantee the artist will be signed. I have texted him twice now with no response. Nothing irritates me more than someone not responding to a texts or e-mails.

On a side note I haven’t really been able to write poetry since I finished my last book “Trapped Within My Illness.” I sent this manuscript to a publishing company, and also to one of my readers whose father is in the business. I really do not think it will get published and I am totally fine with this. I have written only a handful of poems since I finished, but nothing like the flood of poems I write when I am in a funk.

I have also thought about revisiting my idea to write the book “The Life and Mind of No One Special.” I still think it would be a good idea to write a book based off my 100 best blog posts. I also have a few other ideas which I need to add to my website. I am not really going to focus on any other projects until I finish these two manuscripts. The overall scope of what I am trying to accomplish takes a shit load of time, which I do not have enough of. I just do not want these things to take four months to complete. I so badly want them in the agent’s hands so I can fully realize my dream.

I added a poll to this site awhile back asking my readers to help me with a tattoo idea I had. I truly appreciate all those who took the time to answer. I am going to add another poll on this site asking my readers to decide if “The Life and Mind of No One Special” is a viable idea, or possibly even a book based on my “Philosophy of Quotes.” If this is helpful I may place my other ideas out there to be judged by you guys. This survey will be up by tomorrow afternoon, so please take the time to vote, so I can get a sense of if this idea has merit.

April 25, 2011 - Posted by | Blog, Blogging, Books, Childhood, Children, Children's Books, Dreams, Journal, Kids, Living Your Dream, Parent, Parenting, The Philosophy of Quotes, Writing | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. First off, you added a poll, not a pole.

    Secondly, you wrote the following: I can honestly say without a shadow of doubt that I have never been more certain about my success.

    Statements like this are worrisome. I am not arguing that a person shouldn’t have confidence in themselves, but success as a writer is beyond your control. It is dependent on both publishers and readers.

    It particularly worries me because of your specific personality. If things don’t occur on your time line, then I see you setting yourself up for a big fall into the abyss.

    Comment by The Rambling Taoist | April 25, 2011 | Reply

    • Trey,

      Thank you for catching that!! Also thank you for the kind words of wisdom. I agree with you 100% if this doesnt work out I know even if I didnt have such confident hopes rejection then reality will shake me to my core. I just really feel this new idea for the series is a solid idea. I will e-mail idea to you if you are interested and will give honest feedback. I know you have always given me honest solid advice for a long time now and I appreciate it so very much

      Comment by The Random Thinker | April 25, 2011 | Reply

  2. ★★★★★

    Comment by Kristin Brænne | April 25, 2011 | Reply

  3. Congatulations for finishing the book! And GOOD LUCK!!!!!!\(^_^)/

    Comment by renxkyoko | May 1, 2011 | Reply

  4. The time constraints are there with two manuscripts at hand. Even if you have your 100 blog posts ready, you still have to edit it !! Good luck and good going !!

    Comment by ....the little thread of thoughts | May 5, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 115 other followers

