The Minnesota Vikings & The Cheating Whore

Posted: January 25, 2010 in Football, Grief, Minnesota, Minnesota Vikings, Mourning, Sadness, Sorrow, Sports
Tags: , , , , , ,

It has been 13 hours since the Minnesota Vikings lost the NFC Championship Game against the New Orleans Saints. I am sitting here at work trying to find the words to describe how devastated I am, and muster the strength to get working on my never-ending”to do” list. I am simply far too heartbroken to do anything but sit in utter despair.. I cannot remember the last time I was this shook up over a sporting event… oh yea 1998.

It has been 12 years, since the Vikings lost to the Atlanta Falcons in the NFC Championship Game. My hopes were shattered by poor game management, and a missed field goal that to this day still haunts me. Our kicker made every field goal he attempted during the season, but had to miss the game winning kick. I was totally fine with the ass kicking we took by the New York Giants in 2000, because I knew early that we were done. The utter disappointment and grief I am feeling today, is far more painful.

The Minnesota Vikings have been to nine championship games losing every single one of them. In 1975 it was the “Hail Mary.” In 1998 it was the missed field goal. In 2000 it was the beat down, and in 2010 it was the 12 men penalty. I honestly feel there is a curse on my favorite team.

This was supposed to be our year; we finally obtained the missing piece to the puzzle. By signing Brett Favre, the Minnesota Vikings possessed the game changing quarterback we have needed the last few years. It made it all the more exciting that it was Brett Favre our arch nemesis for fifteen years with the Green Bay Packers. It seemed like destiny, the Hall of Fame quarterback, seeking redemption, and the chance to end his career on top. I am sure that he did not want to be known for the interception he threw in overtime in the 2008 NFC Championship Game, or last year, when he completely broke down mid-season.

The season started out great. We were winning, and Brett Favre was not looking like a 40-year-old quarterback. I was skeptical at first, until the 49ers game, and that great drive and fantastic touchdown pass. I was completely hooked. I was a believer. As the season moved on, the pain from the 1998 loss was slowly shedding. We hit a wall towards the end of the season, but finished positive by destroying the New York Giants. The Minnesota Vikings sealed up the second seed, earning us a first round bye.

In the divisional round of the playoffs, the Vikings humiliated the Dallas Cowboys, earning us a spot in the NFC Championship Game against the New Orleans Saints. My stomach was in knots on the day and hours leading up to the game. I was worried, yet had complete faith that we were going to the Super Bowl.

In my 25 years of watching football I have never been a part of such an emotionally draining game. Words cannot describe the intense feelings that were going on inside of me. The game was close; and gut wrenching to watch. When Reggie Bush muffed the punt near the end of the second quarter, I was ecstatic. I knew we were going to get a touchdown to end the first half. What happened next was anything but, we fumbled the ball in the red zone missing the opportunity to get ahead. This was a pre cursor to a series of events that would inevitable crush my heart and soul.

Fumble, after fumble, an interception, and a complete breakdown of our offensive line was hard to watch, yet thanks to our defense we were still in the game. The Vikings were driving down the field with less than a minute to go. It looked like I was finally going to see my favorite team in the Super Bowl. The drive slowed down, and it appeared we would need to rely on a kick to take us to the promise land. Fears of 1998 were dancing in my head. Then came the flag for 12 men in the huddle. We were sent back 5 yards, decreasing our chance of success on a field goal. The next play Brett Favre was chased out of the pocket, and had six yards of daylight in front of him, unfortunately he did not take those six yards. Instead he forced the ball into coverage resulting in an interception. The game was tied and heading into overtime.

The Vikings lost the coin toss in overtime, and was unable to stop the Saints, resulting in a game winning field goal. I sat in shock for twenty minutes, unaware of how to process my feelings. My hopes and dreams of the story book ending were shattered. Trying to describe my feelings today is tough. I felt like I had been betrayed… not harsh enough, perhaps shit on… no-no I could take a shower to shed that sorrow, and humiliation… it felt like my heart was ripped out of my chest and pissed on by a cheating whore who  just slept with my best friend.

Comments
  1. Ernie says:

    Football is just a game we have no control over and should be treated as such. For anyone to get that emotional just makes them another loser.
    If you wasted your time at work writing this pointless garbage you should be fired.
    My advice to you is to get a life, spend your time on worthwhile things that can make a difference for you and those around you.

    • Tim Lundmark says:

      Thanks for the feedback Ernie. It is funny that yesterday’s post yielded my first negative feedback. I was telling my wife on the way home yesterday that I did not feel very positive over my post yesterday. Although I am sorry you did not like my post, I appreciate you sticking around as a subscriber. I can not promise that you will like all my posts, but I feel comfort knowing that this piece inspired so much emotion in you.

Leave a Reply

