New Rule: Don’t Try And Sell Me Your Kid’s Crap

Posted: January 29, 2010 in Uncategorized

Yesterday a co-worker came into my office trying to sell me candy bars from their kid’s school drive, or perhaps some other function they take part in. She walks into my office and places the box on my desk, pauses for a few seconds then asks me if I would like to buy some. It was a good thing she clarified that these were for sale, perhaps I might misconstrue the fact that she placed this on my desk as some sort of gift. I respectfully declined. 

Most respectful species from the human race would have removed the box from my desk and move on to the next sucker, not her, not today. She looks at me surprised that I was not interested in any candy bars, afterall she did place it right in my personal space. Maybe she thought I couldn’t see clearly, so this woman in all her brilliance pointed out what kind of candy bars were in the box. You know incase I couldn’t fucking read. I again respectfully declined, and went back to the project I was working on.

Any intelligent person would have accepted defeat and moved on. There was no effort to remove the box from my desk, she instead just stood in place peering at me. I continued to do my work hoping she would retreat, after what felt like an eternity but more realistically was a few seconds I stopped what I was doing with a great annoyance. I looked at her trying to size up if she looked as stupid as her actions depicted. What happened next would answer that question.

Now that she had my attention she proceed’s to bend over and point at how much the candy bars costs. See she said they are only one dollar. I realized at this point that proper office politics were not going to work. I looked her dead in the eyes and said, I can see how much they cost, just like I could see what kind of candybars were available the first time you asked me. Apparently I was not clear enough the first two times you asked me when the answer was no. What more do I need to say to you so I can get back to work? She was stunned at my rudeness, snatched the box off my desk and stormed out of my office.

Next time I hope she thinks twice about trying to hard sell me on overpriced candy bars. There is a reason we don’t hang out outside of work, and there is a reason I don’t speak to you at work, because I don’t give a fuck about you, or your shitty little kids aspirations on raising money.

Comments
  1. Melissa says:

    Was she a nurse?

Leave a Reply

