Theology: The Great Debate

Posted: February 16, 2010 in Christianity, Philosophy, Religion, Taoism, The Bible
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Religion can be a blessing for some, and at times a scourge on the people. It is for this reason theology is one of my favorite subjects under the broad umbrella of philosophy. My initial attraction to theology was to ensure my soul did not burn for eternity in a lake of fire, over time it grew into a fascination for many different reasons. I have been able to objectively look at various schools of thought, and then there the times my personal opinions have clouded my otherwise logical judgments.

I have spent hours studying religions; ranging from the religions of today to the pagan religions of the past. (I would like to note, what I consider “pagan” is any religion prior to the Christianization of Europe.) I enjoy reading their creation stories, tales of a messiah, definition of “heaven”, how to get there, and the philosophical views of what is considered right and wrong. I am intrigued the impact religion has on people personally, and the impact it can have on society.

Religion has been a core concept in the human psyche since the beginning of time. In its infancy religion was a tool used to cope with the minds fear of death, and the unknown. In the early stages of religion the people worshipped the sun, moon, and stars, with time religion became more complex. If you were to follow a time line of religion, it seems that belief systems appear to build upon one another. The concept of a virgin birth, messiah, and resurrection from the dead were there prior to Christianity. Regardless of what you believe, we all seek to fill this “hole,” the concept people seem to lose touch with is this… Religion is subjective; whether a person believes in God, or worships the sun. In their eyes this is the path to “salvation”, because they believe, and so it is. The nice thing about theology is no one is right, and no one is wrong.

I have no claim to any one religion, although I have found I relate more to the Eastern religions such as Buddhism and Taoism. I find these two religions to contain a better understanding of the concept of peace, unlike some of the other religions. I have yet to find stories of forced conversion, or war perpetrated by Buddhist or Taoist followers. In fact many of these same followers have protested against such barbaric behavior. They teach tolerance and understanding, judging others based off their religious beliefs is simply not in their nature.

From time to time I am going to write on this subject. Most people feel threatened or uncomfortable with discussing religion. I have heated debates with my father who is a tad extreme with his beliefs on Christianity. I am the only one who will debate with him, so it works out. The difference between us is I am able to step out with an open mind and try and see it through his eyes. He is unable to see past the blinders of his faith. I hope using my blog will be a nice outlet to discuss what I have learned, and my own personal journey to find “salvation.”

Comments
  1. Johanna says:

    I suppose I’d rather err on the side of caution… If I am a Christian and there is no God, Heaven or Hell, what have I lost? Nothing. If I am an Athiest and there IS a God, Heaven and Hell, I’m screwed!

Leave a Reply

