A Disappointing “24” Hours

Posted: March 9, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I am a huge fan of the Fox show “24.” I have seen every season, and with each episode the show left me salivating for next week. I am sad to say; the current season of “24” is a huge disappointment. The only purpose this season holds is it works great to fall asleep to.

The story line is more of the same, yes every season is about the same topic, but in prior years they added intriguing and interesting side stories. In certain years you always suspect someone is on the inside, and it was enjoyable trying to figure it out. This year it seems very predictable to guess who is the deceiver. I am bored with the whole thing.

I also think this show has served it’s purpose and continuing it only affects how we will remember it. I feel it is getting extremely un-believable, yes I could accept all the internal bad guys. I am getting tired of the story twists where someone within the government is evil. I know politicians are far from honest, but to believe season after season there is someone in our government who is trying to destroy us is getting played out.

I am also sick of the main character Jack Baur. His behaviour and character traits are getting annoying. He either whispers like a douche, or screams like a rage aholic. The current President is annoying as well, I did not like her last season, and I was disappointed she came back.

The new CTU characters are dull and boring as well, I don’t know about you but it is hard to take Freddy Prince Junior seriously. He is more a pussy than a bad ass. I also can not stand the woman he is marrying, there is no way she could hide her true identity enough to qualify to work at CTU. The process to become a FBI agent is almost a year-long, and I would assume this job requires a little more extensive interview process. I can not stand the side story line where this one guy at CTU keeps hitting on this chick. I think she is hideously disgusting, and I am sick of them trying to infer she is attractive. Perhaps this computer geek is consistently intoxicated and has permanent beer goggles on. Finally I can no longer stand Cloe, and her constant facial expressions. This woman looks like she is constantly constipated.

I will continue to watch this season it serves its purpose as a visual sedative. The story line of the good guys preventing  terrorist attacks within a twenty-four hour period is getting dull. I would recommend the writers of “24” make next season their last. I hope they have enough balls to give this show a proper send-off ala “The Shield.”

Overall I give this season 1 out of 5 stars. I think everyone involved with this season of “24” should be ashamed of themselves for ruining a classic show.

Leave a Reply

