Building Forts With My Son

Posted: March 19, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Remember building forts when you were a kid? You could throw some blankets over various pieces of furniture crawl inside and  you just built a fort. I always loved to do that when I was a kid. I would bring my stuffed up animals inside the fort, or some G.I. Joes and be content for hours. When my childhood friend Andrew and I had sleepovers we would build forts that seemed so massive, but in reality were rather small.

I was sitting at the computer trying to get some writing done, my son who is out of daycare for two weeks was constantly in my ear. It was becoming impossible to concentrate and get any work done. I decided to grab a couple blankets and make a little fort he could play in. I canvass the area trying to see how logistically I could use the end table two blankets and some cushions and turn it into a play area. I tried different things, moved the end table here and there, trying to get the cushions and blankets to stay in place.

I succeeded in building a small little fort he could crawl in. I watched him go in and out, but I realized he would soon grow board of basically laying under some suspended blankets. I looked it over and said “This simply will not do.” I came to a realization that I must construct the grandest fort in all the world. I looked over our entertainment room. We had so much space, which means endless possibilities. I moved some furniture around. I grabbed the large dog kennel, this would be used as support, and provide a nice place to hide. I knew I needed more blankets than just these two to create my masterpiece.

I tell Dylan “Gather every blanket in this house.” We ran to every room and stripped every bed, and carried them down to the basement. We grabbed the beanbag, and every pillow in the house, These were brought down into the entertainment  room. I had my roofing materials, but there was so much space; I needed more walls. We grabbed Brianna’s bed and brought it into the room. I moved it here and there, trying to make it work. I again said to myself “This simply won’t do.”

We needed more walls, so we ran up to Dylan’s room to grab his mattress. We needed support for the mattress so we grabbed a bench, and some boxes from under the stairs. I positioned my walls and support beams throughout the room. I stood there with a great pride. I looked at the 13 blankets laying on the floor, and thought to myself “Self. How am I going to get these blankets to stay?”

I realized I needed nails, but if I used real nails my wife would beat me when she got home. The next best thing was those push-pin things. Armed with nails I was ready to rock. I stretched the blankets from here to there, nailing them into the wall, and using weights on the various support beams. Dylan was trying his best to help me and give me ideas, I was so in a zone and his ideas made no sense. I did not want to crush his spirit by being honest to him, so I tried to distract him Jedi style. It was kind of like when I “helped” him carve a pumpkin, but that is a story for another time.

Two in a half hours later the grandest fort was built. This fort  consisted of our entire entertainment room. The only part of te room that is not covered under blankets is a small path, which leads to the computer desk. Dylan and I went in to explore our massive fort. We  went through the twists and the turns, we discovered five separate rooms with enough space to play, and one room which was so massive the whole family could sleep in. 

I felt like this was one of my greatest achievements. The set up was great I could get some writing done and watch the basketball games. It was an amazing sight, I looked across the room and saw a sea of blankets, with the T.V. hung on the wall. There was one minor problem the blankets covered the cable box, and surround sound system.

With a smile on my face I began to write….. Fifteen minutes later Dylan was bored with it.

Leave a Reply

