Joanna Newsom: Have One On Me Review

Posted: March 22, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I picked up the album “Have One On Me” by Joanna Newsom this weekend. I have to say this is one of the top 5 or 10 worst albums I have ever heard. I have a process when I listen to a new album. I will play it three times in a row, so I can get a good feel for it. I will sometimes dislike a song the first time I hear it, but enjoy it the second or third time. I will not give this album such a courtesie, I can hardly get through it a first time. It would be too much torture hearing it a second or god help me a third time.

I discovered this album on Amazon’s top 100 sellers list. I would categorize this music as Indie Folk. I find Indie music in general to be hit or miss. I will sometimes enjoy it because it is different, while other times I find it overwhelmingly artsie.

I enjoy the musical arrangements, the way she plays the piano is relaxing and peaceful. Where this album falls apart is when she opens her mouth and attempts to sing. It is truly dreadful, and shame on which ever record company decided to produce it, and infest the ear drums of anyone unfortunate enough to listen.

I am a big lyrics guy, even if I do not like the musical arrangements, if the song has good lyrics I will usually cut it some slack. unfortunately with this album I can not get past her annoying voice to even attempt to understand the words which are coming out of her mouth.

I would recommend anyone who is thinking about purchasing this album to do themselves a favor and stay as far away as possible. This album is not even worth stealing.

I give this album -5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

