I discovered this weekend my mental illness may have been misdiagnosed. I may suffer from an autism spectrum disorder called asperger syndrome. My wife has been saying for years she thinks I may suffer from such an issue. I scored 197/200 on the test.

Since I was diagnosed with a mental illness back in 1993; the doctors have changed my official diagnosis time and time again. I have been told by every med doctor and therapist that I have the most complex mental illness they have ever encountered. I remember one therapist I had years ago, was so intrigued by me; when I ran out of insurance he offered to see me for free. I have been frustrated with the lack of relief from the symptoms for many years. I have been fortunate enough to have been prescribed almost every single medication to treat any and all diagnoses. If I can draw anything from this experience; I can say I have an extensive knowledge of mental disorders and treatments.

When my wife brought this up to me a few years ago; I did not pay it too much attention. When I think of autism I think of Rain Man. I know for certain I do not behave in such a way so I figured she was confused. Yesterday she read some information to me on this particular form of autism. I was shocked to find out I fit the symptoms in every single form. We decided I should take a test to see what I would score, and review the feedback. I scored extremely high. I will be scheduling an appointment with my doctors for follow-up tests.

I felt a little douchey after I saw my score, but after some thought, I think I prefer this diagnosis over my current one. I know the stigma which comes along with my current diagnosis is very bad. I once got “laid off” the very next day I commented to my co-workers I did not appreciate their rude comments over mental illness because I suffer from it. When people find out my diagnosis I can see them look at me differently. I would think with aspergers, I would not get the same reaction.

You never know they have been wrong before.

Comments
  1. Rebekah Elling says:

    Sounds like you are taking all the right steps, and a correct diagnosis is key to treatment. I don’t know what you are diagnosed with, but it is very common to misdiagnose asbergers for Schizophrenia, or vice versa. Especially if you are not diagnosed until your adult years. Much luck to you!

  2. M says:

    Hello,

    I also found out about my Asperger’s through a mental health diagnosis. I was diagnosed in my mid-30’s. I scored high on the test as well.

    I still have to careful who I share my Aspie diagnosis with as some people tend to treat me differently, or as if retarded. I am high functioning with a high IQ and a graduate student, married. go figure!

    I wish you luck with your diagnosis. Knowing helped me immensely. I thought I was nuts; I just think differently. :oD

    oh and the best book IMHO – “The Complete Guide to Asperger’s Syndrome” by Tony Attwood (amazon.com)

    You can visit my blog at:
    http://michellemazur.wordpress.com/ where I talk about the therapy process.

    michelle

    • Tim Lundmark says:

      Michelle,
      Welcome to the community. My doctors are not convinced I have aspergers. My therapist gave me a different diagnosis. I just recently had a 7 hour test with a neuropsychologist last week and I will have my results tomorrow. I am nervous to hear the results. I am worried I will find out I am retarded. I would like to reccomend a blog to you from the wisest man I know who also suffers from aspergers.
      ramblingtaoist.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

