Putting a value on status

will create contentiousness.

If you overvalue possessions,

People begin to steal.

By not displaying what is desirable, you will

cause the people’s hearts to remain undisturbed.

The sage governs

by emptying minds and hearts,

by weakening ambitions and strengthening bones.

Practice not doing….

When action is pure and selfless,

everything settles into its own perfect place.

Lao-tzu

I was discussing with someone on Facebook last night. I posted the question asking if people believed in fate or chance. My friends response was chance; with luck opportunities, and possibilities. I can see the arguments from both sides, I very much appreciated the conversation. How the conversation ended reminded me of many verses of the Tao Te Ching, one of them being the third verse. Since I have started posting verses when I am short on time I figured this suited my conversation last night.

The third verse is about living the content life, and the value of serving your fellow-man. The first four lines have had a huge impact on my life. I very much overvalued social and work status. I strived for more and more possessions to fill this emptiness inside of me. These two things created an overwhelming amount of disharmony in my life. It was only when I started to let go of these desires for higher status, and more possessions; it was then I finally started to achieve them. I let be what will be, and in a sense once I stopped working so hard… things worked out.

For the next three days practice the art of not doing, and see how much you get done. Live these three days with the mind-frame of “how may I serve.” Observe the positive outcomes from doing for others.

Leave a Reply

