The True Meaning Of Easter?

It starts on a Friday they say it is good

A Jewish man died long ago

Rejoice we can continue to spew lies

He was whipped, beaten and tortured

It’s ok my children

Flood the streets go murder and steal

He was nailed to a cross and put on display

Let us covet, cheat and open the door to greed

He died for our sins

We are saved by grace not works

Is what I hear

It’s ok now we can have fun

Now it’s Saturday, we color some eggs

The Easter Bunny is coming to bring us some joy

He will take these eggs and hide them about

He is like Santa in his magical ways

Traveling the world in one single night

Bringing baskets of candy for our delight

No naughty or nice lists

No need to behave

Must be because of this nice Jewish man

We can all continue to sin

Now it’s Sunday Easter is here!

The bunny has come

He brought us some cheer

This is truly what Easter is about

So much candy to shove in our mouths

Mommy! Mommy! Are we going to church?

I don’t think so honey

I had a late night

I thought there was something special

About this day

Months ago I think I heard the preacher say

Maybe not company’s got paid

Walking by I hear Mommy pray

And to the Father, The Son, and The Easter Bunny

Amen

By: Tim Lundmark

I am not a Christian, but I am well versed in the Bible. I see some things where people have lost the true meaning, that being said I did not write this as an anti-religion piece. I wrote this because Easter, and even Christmas have lost the true meaning of what we are supposed to be celebrating. Jesus birth and resurrection has been tainted by big business. For people who are Christians, and those of us who are not miss what these holidays are about. I am certain there are family’s which honor the true meaning, and this is not directed at them.

The first part of the poem is illustrating the false lessons some churches preach. They say we are saved by grace not works. This is a powerful and destructive thing preachers preach. Throughout the Old and New Testaments we are told to follow the commandments of God. Jesus preached this throughout the New Testament. In the end both Christmas and Easter started as pagan holiday, these are man-made celebrations, which then turned into corporate cash cows. I would like to quote some scriptures to back up what I am saying.

Mark chapter 7 verse 6-13             

6He answered and said unto them, Well hath Esaias prophesied of you hypocrites, as it is written, This people honoureth me with their lips, but their heart is far from me.

 7Howbeit in vain do they worship me, teaching for doctrines the commandments of men.

 8For laying aside the commandment of God, ye hold the tradition of men, as the washing of pots and cups: and many other such like things ye do.

 9And he said unto them, Full well ye reject the commandment of God, that ye may keep your own tradition.

 10For Moses said, Honour thy father and thy mother; and, Whoso curseth father or mother, let him die the death:

 11But ye say, If a man shall say to his father or mother, It is Corban, that is to say, a gift, by whatsoever thou ightiest be profited by me; he shall be free.

 12And ye suffer him no more to do ought for his father or his mother;

 13Making the word of God of none effect through your tradition, which ye have delivered: and many such like things do ye.

John 1 Chapter 2 verse 3-4

3And hereby we do know that we know him, if we keep his commandments.

 4He that saith, I know him, and keepeth not his commandments, is a liar, and the truth is not in him.

Matthew Chapter 7 verse 21 – 23

21Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven.

 22Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works?

 23And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity.

 

Leave a Reply

