I went through countless years where I believed you had to own named expensive brand products. The more expensive the better, I needed these things because I thought it would make me a better person. I wanted to live in an expensive house; I wanted to drive the best cars. I had to have every video game system loaded with games. I needed to wear expensive clothes, cologne, shoes, wallets, watches, necklaces, and I had to have the best electronics. I was so consumed with all these desires to have the best, and when I could not get them it destroyed my entire existence. I was consumed with having a job where I made six figures.

 I felt filling my life with all these possession would fill the hole inside of me. I based my entire self-worth on all these things. If I was unable to obtain these wants I felt so shitty about myself. These wants and perceived needs were destroying my life.

 I would waste so much money trying to fill this hole. I would spend $90.00 on cologne, and not just one I had to have enough so I could smell different seven days a week. I would buy $250.00 outfits. I bought a $250.00 watch I never wore. I owned a $60.00 wallet. I had more shoes than most women. It was completely out of control. It was never enough; this hole could never be filled.

 It took me nineteen years until I was finally able to figure it out. I realized how much money you had, your title at your job, or the possessions you own, do not define who you are. Letting go of my desire, and my attachment to possessions changed my life. I let go of greed, desires, and attachment to worldly possessions. This has been one of the greatest things to happen to me. I instead filled my hole with something else, and I notice it is getting filled. I let go and let be what will be. I try to live with the thinking of “how may I serve”, and flow like a river.

 The most amazing thing happened; the things I always wanted started just coming to me. I was able to complete my life dream of getting a book published, and I am working on others. I founded “The Bucket List Foundation,” I have a website, and I am able to write everyday on this blog. The most important thing is I am starting to have peace and serenity.

 I still like nice things, but the key word there is like not want. I still buy nice things, except this time I get them on clearance.

 My name is Tim, and I am a recovered named brand whore.

Comments
  1. Johanna says:

    This is one of your most positive, upbeat posts. I hope this peace stays w/ you.

  2. Nicole says:

    HI TIM, glad you are here.
    It is amazing what can happen when we stop confusing WANT with NEED and just allow. Sure hope you are thankful to all the people who helped you realize that money does not buy happiness.
    Grant me the serenity to accept the things I can not change…….

  3. While it is sometimes true that what we want comes to us when we quit trying so hard to obtain it, it doesn’t always work out that way. There are so many variables involved and most of them are beyond our comprehension.

Leave a Reply

