Heaven is eternal – the earth endures.

Why do Heaven and earth last forever?

They do not live for themselves only.

This is the secret of their durability.

For this reason the sage puts himself last

and so ends up ahead.

He stays a witness to life,

so he endures.

Serve the need of others,

and all your own needs will be fulfilled.

Through selfless action, fulfillment is attained

By: Lao-tzu

The 7th verse of the Tao Te Ching teaches us to live a Tao centered life, instead of an ego centered life. If we are able to do this in our minds and actions we will find inner peace and fulfilment. The ego is a demanding force, and if you live with ego you can never be satisfied. You will continue to strive for more, and never feel complete. Generously thinking and serving others will lead to matching your behaviors with the rhythm of the Tao. If you can achieve this the power of the Tao will flow freely; leading to a fulfilling life.

When you let your ego determine your behaviors and persue desires, the more they will elude you. You end up striving and never arriving. Let life come to you, not the other way around. If you achieve this than you find yourself in a continually state of receiving, because of the endless generosity of the eternal Tao.

Our culture defines us by our success, social status, and our possessions. We are taught the quest for power, and bigger better things are supposed to bring us happiness. In the 7th verse the Tao tells us to live for more than just ourselves.

Try to identify your ego centered mind, try to replace with a “how may I serve” way of thinking. Stop chasing after the mentality of more this or that. Refuse your demanding habits, by refusing to chase after them. By holding back ego’s demands, even for a few moments you will feel more and more fulfilled.

By giving without asking for anything in return you will be given everything you need. The things you desire will start coming to you, by putting your self last, you will end up ahead. When we live for others, we have a living connection to the Tao. This living connection does not come easy. You need to consistently meditate, and with each day live to serve others. In doing this you discover the rhythm of the Tao. As you reach out in thinking and doing you release loving energy.

I study the verses of the Tao Te Ching as often as I can. I do not like to move on to the next verse until I am able to live these teachings effortlessly. This verse is one I find myself having trouble living everyday.

The notion of always putting others before yourself is difficult for me because I desire the time to work on my writing career and my foundation. Since I work full-time and have a wife and three kids; time is a rare thing for me. I want to live through my ego center so I can accomplish my personal goals. It is when I allow this ego center to completely take me over, is when I find myself slipping. When I am tempted with greed and selfishness. I begin to think of less fortunate individuals. This allows me to feel more connected to life and be grateful for what I have.

If you enjoy Taoism, please visit the wisest Taoist I have met at ramblingtaoist.blogspot.com

Comments
  1. I may sound wise because I’m a good writer, but I struggle with life just as much as you or anyone else! I have had my share of dark, dark days and I still must deal with OCD, Social Anxiety Disorder, Asperger’s Syndrome and a slew of odd phobias.

    What I so enjoy about our little (but growing) virtual Taoist community is that I learn so much from all the blogs I read and the private emails that go back and forth. NONE of us has a corner on truth and we each stumble along our chosen paths. The important thing is that we each share our own unique experiences — the grand successes and the abysmal failures — so that others can know they are not alone in their quest for meaning and purpose.

  2. kotev100 says:

    Good site!
    Nick

  3. donna says:

    RT, I think most of us who have come to the Tao have struggled, indeed you might not get the Tao at all if you haven’t struggled with something… there is no one truth — it is unique for each and every one of us. That’s why the Tao is still powerful, though so old and seemingly so simplistic.

    • Tim Lundmark says:

      Donna,

      It is always wonderful to meet fellow Taoist, prior to meeting people via my blog I have only met one Taoist. We got into a debate, I tried to tell her there were different schools of thought about Taoism one is philosophical where the other was diety based. She told me I didn’t know about the Tao. I checked out your site and it rocks, I tried to subscribe but I don’t think I did it right. I get so confused with these blogs. I am just honored to get a comment from somebody who is succesful. I enjoy the Rambling Taoist if you have not read his stuff here is the address ramblingtaoist.blogspot.com
      I would love to send you my book and get your review so I can post on my website. Would you be willing to do it. The book is a quick poetry book.

  4. […] is a quote I really like, “Try to identify your ego centered mind, try to replace with a “how may I serve” way of thinking. Stop chasing […]

Leave a Reply

