Many of us walk through our daily lives; accepting things as they are. We shuffle out of our beds, our jobs, the store, to our homes, watch television, and then back to bed. We wake up and relive the same thing the next day. We accept and become complacent with our lives, our government, and the world around us. We accept things the way they are; even if we do not agree with it. Living by motto’s such as “what can I do,” “its not my problem,” “I just don’t want to get involved.” It is this burnt out acceptance our country thrives off of. The powers that be; do not want us to look at our lives under a microscope, or have the energy to fight for change.

There are people in this country who are unemployed and cannot support their families. There are those individuals who are losing their homes. Many of our major metropolitan areas and suburbs are swarming with the hungry and homelessness. We accept our schools turning to shit especially in low economic communities, , we accept our government selling the people out to big business, we accept no true universal healthcare, we accept getting screwed by insurance companies, we accept war, we accept the deterioration of morals and ethics within our country, we accept these things and so much more.

We feel these things are so large and daunting they will never change. It is this acceptance and compliancy which keeps us from truly changing the world and bettering the lives of ourselves, as well as those in our country that need it. How can we expect these things to improve if we do nothing? It is possible to change our society if people actually acted when they notice social evils and misfortune. If everyone stood up to the things which hold us down it will gradually change until the problem is solved

There numerous levels of human suffering we can never truly know, nor do we take the time to recognize or acknowledge them. It is a form of societal denial or sweeping things under the proverbial rug. There are worlds within worlds where violence and suffering are the norm. Hunger and homelessness, we wish it was not there, and we may feel bad about it, yet we turn our back on those who are suffering and experiencing hardships. We think of ourselves first, and our neighbors last. We live by the motto’s “it is not my problem,” “what can I do about it?” “I just don’t want to get involved.”

It’s sad; we accept we are where we are and choose to do nothing about it. This thinking only contributes to destruction of our society, as well as keeps our political process from offering any real change to the people.

The facts are we can do something about it. We can if we make ourselves aware of the human suffering going on in our country, and the social and economical shackles we as a people are in and all we need to do is open our eyes and try. If you started today the pay it forward concept, and those who you helped paid it forward our country would change. If the Tea Baggers can unit together for the greater evil, then why can’t we band together for the greater good?

What do you think?

Check out my website to read more on what you can do. www.thephilosophyofme.com under the “American Republic Movement” tab

Comments
  1. I’ve come full circle in this regard; I use to beat the same drum you are beating now!

    But something very profound dawned on me within the past year or two. No one can change “the world” UNTIL they are willing to change themselves. It’s funny. People are willing to fight social injustice or economic oppression because it’s EASIER than looking in the mirror at the one life form a person can have the most impact on.

    So, I’ve decided to work on me first. If I can be successful in changing myself into the kind of person who embraces humility, justice, compassion and simplicity, then and only then, will I try to change the world.

    I mean, really. If a person can’t transform themselves, how arrogant is it to think they can transform others?

    • Tim Lundmark says:

      Rambling,

      I wish I was able to change the world. I am trying so hard to find a platform where I can achieve this. With my foundation I am able to change the lives of our elderly. I will be able to give them a companion, and their final wish. I started The American Republic Movement in hopes I could rally the masses into fighting for the greater good. I to can’t become the person I want to be until I work on myself. I hope to one day accomplish change and progress on a larger scale.

  2. I hear what you are saying Tim (although I object to you covering us all with the “There are numerous levels of human suffering we can never truly know, nor do we take the time to recognize or acknowledge them” and “we accept we are where we are and choose to do nothing about it” blankets!)
    However I think the secret is to be brave enough to change yourself, then become the epicentre of ripples of change that spread out over the pond. As Gandhi famously said “You must be the change you wish to see in the world.”
    As The Rambling Taoist says above “If a person can’t transform themselves, how arrogant is it to think they can transform others?” To twist the metaphor, if we ourselves aren’t worthy pebbles creating those ripples, then we’ve no right to throw stones…
    It was interesting that you talked a lot about ‘this country’… in England we’re inclined to think that even the poorest of us is pretty darn lucky compared to the millions suffering across the world in less stable countries. We’re very aware of events outside our borders, and for a tiny country we give a fortune in government help and charitable donations. So on my country’s behalf – there’s plenty of acknowledging and recognising going on here.

    • Tim Lundmark says:

      Alison,
      Welcome to the community. I guess I wanted to paint a broad blanket to try and impact the “majority” of the masses. I hoped the like minded people would have seen my point, and within themselves relate. I think America has fallen by the wayside; she and her people have fallen from grace. I know very little about life across the pond, but I do know you seem to “get it.” Read my response to Rambling for additional comment

  3. Tim,
    I think you’re missing the point both I & writeousindignation have made. In some of your posts, you write about how much you hate yourself — how you see little more than a dark black hole. Yet, in posts like this one, you want to charge out to change and save the world.

    My friend, until you can look in the mirror and love the reflection looking back, you can’t save or change anyone else.

    As a former social worker, I can tell ya that it’s far easier working on other people’s problems. I got to ride in like the knight in shining armor. I could point to this or that and help them see things in a different light. But, at the end of the day, I got to go home to leave them to do all the heavy lifting. I simply passed out advice; I didn’t have to do ANY of the REAL work involved.

    I worked very hard at helping others because — selfishly — it didn’t leave much time to work on me. I was an escapist. In time, however, it all caught up with me and I had to spend many years (a work that is still ongoing) facing up to who I am and trying to change the parts of the reflection I don’t care for.

    • Tim Lundmark says:

      Rambling,

      I want nothing more than to love my reflection in the mirror. I have found it easier these days, because of where I am mentally. I get your guy’s point, I just feel I am obligated to at least write about the woes we face as a people. Perhaps one of my posts will inspire someone to make a difference in someones life. If that were the case then it made the writting all that much more of an impact.

  4. Nicole says:

    Rambling- thank you- these are the words I as his wife have tried for many years to convey. That to say you want to live your life with the approach of wanting to serve others and change the world for the better, stop the injustice, respect your fellow man, and so forth you must first be able to say you can honestly and whole heartedly say you live your own personal life in the same way. Rambling Tim says you and i are much alike in our words, I too have tried to say that one can not expect of others what they are not willing to do or be themselves. I am sure as many married people know the spouse tends to HEAR others when they say the same thing their mate has said for years. Tim- maybe rabling will be the one to get thru to you 🙂 ilu

    • Yes, anyone who has been in a committed relationship for a good length of time has fallen prey to this. Most of us tend to take the important people in our lives for granted and don’t always hear what they tell us out of respect and love. It so often happens that when someone outside of our intimate circle says the same thing that the light goes off. “Hmm. Maybe he or she has a point!”

      My wife and I have both been guilty of this more times than either of us would care to admit. 🙂

    • Tim Lundmark says:

      I think despite my issues, I have been able with the help of the board get the Bucket List Foundation off the ground so perhaps there is a grey area in your guy’s theory.

  5. Nicole says:

    Funny b/c i just read the back and forth between Tim and Rambling from yesterdays post, after I posted the above…
    what’s that they say Rambling……”GREAT MINDS THINK ALIKE”? 😉

  6. Melissa says:

    Tim, I agree with you that there are suffering, poverty, and hardships in our country. We are also a wealthy and privledged country with lots of resources available to many people and families. There are lots of people and organizations that are activests for a cause, raise money for research to help cure disease, run food shelves in thier spare time to feed hungry, build houses for habitat for humanity…you get my point. Not everyone looks away, many folks say, “how can I help”
    I love the pay it foreward idea and believe random act of kindness can and does go full circle.
    I thind Rambling Taoist has the right idea..work on yourself first and you will see others around you follow your lead. This does not mean you have to stop doing the things that you have passion for and do your part in changing the world.

    • Tim Lundmark says:

      Sis,

      I know there is much to work on with me, but it is good I have a strong desire to help make this world a better place. I have learned over my growth it is in doing for others which will define who we are. I will not stop the Bucket List Foundation, or writing posts which promote change, if I were to then I would be doing myself and others a great disservice. I get the feeling from responses, I should cease working on change until I am 100% better in myself.

      • Tim,
        I think you’re STILL missing the point.

        I don’t know what your official diagnosis is, but you seem very bi-polar. When you’re at your low points, everything seems hopeless and you are in the grips of much self-loathing. When you’re at your high points, everything seems possible and you have a “never say die” attitude.

        Here’s the problem. During the high points, you’re going to charge out into the world doing this and that. If you help to found organizations and movements, people will come to rely upon you. This is all great and fantastic…as long as you remain on your high.

        Sooner or later, however, you’re going to hit one of your lows. When this happens, you become very unreliable and undependable. People will look to you for guidance and leadership; you won’t be anywhere around. You will be in the depths of depression.

        When this happens, the people around you will not be motivated to do great things, they will be disillusioned because they will discover that the one person they THOUGHT they could count on, they can’t count on consistently.

        If anyone hopes to change the world, they have to get their own house in order first. It does no one — including you — any good to have a leader who is there for the masses SOME of the time, but the other half of the time goes completely off the deep end.

      • Tim Lundmark says:

        Rambling,

        Everything you said is true; my mood disorder is bi-polar. I am still being diagnosed for my thought disorder. I am NOT a dependable leader. I hope to find the right person who is on the same wave length as me. The foundation is not fully run by me. I have a president, vice president who assist me with running the foundation. I feel I have visions of a perfect world, which I hope to see one day. I want to work out my issues; the Tao has brought me serenity and hope. As long as I study and meditate I am great. I am sure you know the Tao teaches first you read it then you think it then you live it. I hope to live it consistently someday. I plan on working on myself through therapy. I have been happy for over a month, this is not my normal pattern. I feel good about my progress. I hope to continue this, to avoid the downs, so people can depend on me all the time.
        I still feel you would be the leader of choice.

  7. johanna says:

    “Love your neighbor as yourself” Matthew 22 (37-39)
    You must love yourself before you can love others. Perhaps if you could go back and see yourself before you were hurt, when you were a small child, you would see who God created you to be and know that He loves you just as you are. If you truly understood how much God loved you, you would begin to love yourself. Know that you are loved by One who loves you w/ a perfect, un-jaded love, not spoiled by this world. God loves with perfection.

    • The Taoist version of what Johanna wrote — the one with no god in it — would also suggest you go back to when you were a young child. That time in your life when you were closest to your internal nature. That time in your life before you started to develop distinctions and you more easily saw the connection of all things.

      That part of you remains. It hasn’t gone anywhere. It’s just been covered up by the pain and hurt of subsequent years. It’s been buried by all the hubris and hyperbole of your own making and, often, piled high on you by others.

      It’s not easy peeling back the fetid layers. Each of us must face this struggle throughout our lives and, if truth be known, few of us –certainly NOT me — will ever peel them back completely, once and for all.

  8. You wrote, “I still feel you would be the leader of choice.”

    My goodness no. Not me! I’m not a good leader for the very reason I outlined in my email: I’m not dependable enough.

    My hang up is Social Anxiety Disorder. I can’t handle groups. When you add that in with my autism, it’s a very bad combination!

    For more than a decade, I tried to force myself to be more social (against my internal nature) and I rose to leadership positions in several organizations. But both I and others paid a heavy price. It generated undue stress on me and I seemed to be lightening rod for controversy with others.

    Writing little tomes on the internet suits me far better; there’s no face-to-face social relations involved. 😉

    • Tim Lundmark says:

      I to have severe panic in social situations. I will get dizzy and disorentated and feel like I am going to pass out. I feel like my chest is going to explode. I do prefer this type of communication. When I get around people I feel awkward. I am going to try and do a poetry reading soon, and the thought of it freaks me out, but I have to try it.

Leave a Reply

