The Seven Deadly Sins: Part 8… I Stand Corrected

Posted: July 22, 2010 in Bible, Catholic Church, Christianity, Church, History, Jesus, Journal, Religion, The Seven Deadly Sins, Theology, Writing
Tags: , , , , , ,

I started an eight part series on the Seven Deadly Sins. I made the argument that the Seven Deadly sins were a man made list; created to control the people who were under the control of the Catholic Church and the Roman Empire. I admit there are paths which cross between the Catholic Church’s Seven Deadly Sins and the Ten Commandments such as wraith or lust, but I chose to focus deeper and find a diabolical plan to control the simple minded peasants. I was reading the Book of Proverbs, and came across something which throws my theory right out the window. I have no choice but to admit I am wrong.

Proverbs (6:16-24)

6:16 These six things doth the LORD hate : yea, seven are an abomination unto him:

6:17 A proud look, a lying tongue, and hands that shed innocent blood,

6:18 An heart that deviseth wicked imaginations, feet that be swift in running to mischief,

6:19 A false witness that speaketh lies, and he that soweth discord among brethren.

6:20 My son, keep thy father’s commandment, and forsake not the law of thy mother:

6:21 Bind them continually upon thine heart, and tie them about thy neck.

6:22 When thou goest , it shall lead thee; when thou sleepest , it shall keep thee; and when thou awakest , it shall talk with thee.

6:23 For the commandment is a lamp; and the law is light; and reproofs of instruction are the way of life.

6:24 To keep thee from the evil woman, from the flattery of the tongue of a strange woman.

This may not be the exact list presented by the Church, but the message is the same. I cannot blame the Church for preaching such things. Another list of bad things, given this time by the Epistle to the Galatians (Galatians 5:19-21), includes more of the traditional seven sins, although the list is substantially longer: adultery, fornication, uncleanness, lasciviousness, idolatry, sorcery, hatred, variance, emulations, wrath, strife, seditions, heresies, envyings, murders, drunkenness, revellings, “and such like”.

The only way I am able to stick to my argument is if these books were added or altered by the Church. They had control over which books made the Bible, as well as the translation. I feel the concept of hell, was a man made addition to the Bible as a fear mongering tactic. I wish I was around during this time to watch this process. I feel like the message I am receiving when I am reading the Bible is a distorted one; straying away from the original meaning.

These types of man made changes are happening today, which is what inspired me to begin the book “Deceived.” I have learned from listening to my father preach; there are many things which have been changed not only through the written Word, but also the messages being preached by television sermons. The three which stick out most is there was never meant to be a separation between Christianity and Judaism, and the changing of the Sabbath, and the teaching we are saved by grace not works. I am reading 3-4 separate versions to find other teachings which have been altered over the generations. I would recommend to the Christians out there who attend church to read the KJV after a sermon and compare it to the Word. I would love to hear stories from you on things you have found.

What do you think?

Comments
  1. dana says:

    If there is not a heaven/hell, what happens to us, our body and souls when we die?

    I would like to know why the trinity is being taught. it is not of the bible, but also man made up. what is the benefit to the churches to teach this?

    • Tim Lundmark says:

      Dana & Johanna,
      From my knowledge of the Bible is there are only two places where it references the “The father the son and the holy spirit. The name holy trinity is manmade; they took off with one reference and created the actual word. Johanna you seem to be savvy with the Bible I would love to see all these references, perhaps I am off base. I love the concept of the holy trinity; I think it is taught to honor God Jesus, and the Word. It is not a bad thing.

      Thinking as a Christian/theologian I have to say I believe the concept of hell and be thrown into a pit of fire for eternity unless you do this and that, is a scare tactic. Lucifer is God of this world, so where we are now should be considered hell. When the rapture comes the believers will rule and rain with Jesus. The rest of us will be given chance after chance to accept the Word is true, otherwise we remain on this earth and continue to dwell in hell.

      I have debated with many Christians and I get a common response “I would rather believe and go to heaven then to not believe and be sent to hell. I think Christianity is a beautiful religion; the problem is Lucifer has tainted the word of God which will keep us in hell. I admire many believers because their faith and heart is strong.
      When seeking out a religion to fill the hole inside of us, you really need to study many religions, eventually your heart and soul will find the best one.

  2. johanna says:

    Dana, there are hundreds of references in the Bible to God the Father, Son and Holy Spirit. The idea of the trinity is not man made.

  3. You wrote, “I made the argument that the Seven Deadly sins were a man made list; created to control the people who were under the control of the Catholic Church and the Roman Empire.”

    The only part of your original thesis that I think you got wrong was the identity of the controllers. Since I am of the opinion that the entirety of the bible was written by humans (man-made), the “sins” were still lit upon by the ruling class of Jews (not Catholics) to control the people under them.

    In my opinion, that’s the major thesis that under girds religion anyway. For all the talk about gods, paradise or purgatory after death, peace, love and forgiveness, it really boils down more to earthly power and wealth than anything else.

    Does anyone know of a mainstream religion in which the institution of the church doesn’t wield enormous power (both religious and secular) and amass egregious amounts of wealth? I think NOT.

    • Tim Lundmark says:

      I agree. Religion has and is a mode of social control. This is what makes me dislike it so much. The Bible is man-made, but when I was writing I did not make that connection…nice call. I love Karl Marx’s opinion on religion, I am going to include a few of my favorites

      “Religion is the impotence of the human mind to deal with occurrences it cannot understand.”
      Karl Marx

      “Religion is the opium of the masses.”
      Karl Marx

      “Religion is the sigh of the oppressed creature, the heart of a heartless world, and the soul of soulless conditions. It is the opium of the people.”
      Karl Marx

      “The first requisite for the happiness of the people is the abolition of religion.”
      Karl Marx

      You have to love Karl!

Leave a Reply

