In many marriages where one of the spouses has a mental illness much of the burden is transferred to the “normal” partner. My marriage is no different. My wife has taken care of me for eleven years, and without her guidance I wonder where my life would have turned out. I am grateful to have such a wonderful wife and mother to my children. She has stuck with me through my ups and downs. I think she deals with more shit than most wives out there and 95% of the time she does it with love, compassion, and sometimes understanding. I just found out she got a promotion today, and feel I should tell the world how proud I am of her.

I am in amazement how she has grown and prospered at her current job. Her time there is by far the longest stint at a job; she is celebrating five years of employment. Since the start of our relationship she has grown leaps and bounds in employment responsibility. I have had troubles holding down a job in the past, I am currently entering my third year at this job and if I can make it another year then I would have beat my record; so five years is such a great accomplishment. Her progress and worth to her company is invaluable. I admire her endless knowledge and dedication to her employer. Now that she has been promoted she will be in her first managerial position, which is so great.

Her skills as a mother are unmatched. The way she stays on top and in tuned with our children is simply unbelievable. I have no clue how she can balance everything and manage to be like a hawk with the kids. She has instilled such good morals in our oldest son Austin; he is truly turning into such a wonderful man. I have never known a kid, or adult for that manner who is so Zen. He reminds me of a Taoist Sage without even knowing anything about Taoism. I sometimes wonder if Rambling is really my wife and son combined. He would not be the man he is becoming without the aide and guidance of my wife. We have our work cut out for us on our two younger children. If she is able to mold them into what our oldest son is I would say she should win mother of the decade!

My wife is the most selfless person I have ever known. She always puts the needs of the family first. In a weeks time she may take five hours for herself no matter how hard I try to get her to just slow down and relax. She has always been the hand lifting me from my darkness; even if I refuse to see her hand. I just want her to know how much I appreciate her, and how lucky I am to have her in my life. You and our children are the single most wonderful things to happen in my life.

I love you.

Comments
  1. ram0singhal says:

    divine….nature of god is feminine……and your wife has nature of god….bless your family with all the happiness …love all..

  2. What a beautiful blog..Thank you for sharing your feelings about your wife.May the two of you have a long,steady relationship full of laughter and love.

  3. I have often written many of the same things about my wife, Della. We’ve been together for 26 years and ALL credit for our longevity goes to her. With all my issues, I’m not an easy person to live with and yet she has stuck with me through thick and thin. (That said, I’m so thankful we chose not to have children. They would have been certifiable nut cases having to live with a person like me.) 😀

    • Tim Lundmark says:

      Rambling,
      Despite your issues you would have made a good father. You are one of the wisest people I know. I think it is your lack of emotion which keeps you so wise. Your judgments are not tainted by emotions. You look at things for what they are.

      • One of the dangers of the internet is that we think we know people far better than we really do!! While I am a very good writer — it is one of my innate abilities — my writing is far more ordered than my life.

        I would have made a poor father. I know this. My wife knows this. My friends and relatives know this. They know this because they interact with me in person, not solely via the written word on a computer screen.

        (We all my these kinds of mistakes. I’m just as guilty as anyone else. The anonymity of the internet accentuates it.)

        I have too many odd quirks and my life is very regimented. I don’t handle interruptions to my self-imposed regimens very well — very typical of autistic people. I’m very moody. I spend most of my time alone. I’m socially awkward. Consequently, I would have been a very inconsistent parent — sometimes loving and caring, other times very standoffish and emotionally inaccessible. Not a good environment for children at all!!!

        I realized early on that I wasn’t parent material. So, I do pat myself on the back for not going with societal expectations by having a family with children anyway.

      • Tim Lundmark says:

        Rambling,
        You just described my short comings in parenting

  4. gmomj says:

    Your wife sounds awesome.
    I would have to bet that such an awesome person hangs with some pretty cool people.

Leave a Reply

