On Friday I ordered my sample copy of “Dylan Thomas: Finds His Courage.” I should receive the copy in about a week or two. This book is the first installment in a series of children’s books I am writing. It has taken some time to finally get this thing together and ready to be published. My illustrator and I have learned some valuable lessons during this process. I hope these learning tools will aid us in our future installments. The main thing we learned was having the book edited prior to starting the illustration phase, and we have decided each book will have its own separate illustration style. This will be nice because we can keep things fresh.

If everything looks good this book should be available for sale end of September or early October. I really hope everything turns out on paper as well as it shows on the computer. I am worried the quality will be less than perfect, and the illustrations rely heavily on bright eye popping illustrations. If the quality does not come out we may need to look for another printing company which will only further delay its release. 

This series of books is based around my son Dylan. I chose to use his middle name Thomas because Dylan Thomas is the name of one of my favorite poets. Since the series will always be written in rhyming poetry I feel the name is perfect. The stories will always star my son, but each one of my kids will be in the story as well; in fact every character and location in these books will be based off people and locations I know. We will be publishing one more book “Dylan Thomas: Bed Time Songs,” which I am currently writing. Once this one is published I will begin to shop these books off to literary agents in hopes of getting published by one of the larger publishing houses. I understand I have a much better chance of achieving my dream of becoming a full-time author with this series as opposed to my poetry and blog.

I hope to get the support of my readers so I can show agents solid sales numbers. I will let everyone know the day it is released.

Comments
  1. johanna says:

    Can you post a little preview?

Leave a Reply

