Where Are My Reviews At?

Posted: September 15, 2010 in Books, Journal, Misc, miscellaneous, Poems, Poetry, Poetry Books, Writing
Tags: , , , ,

I have been advertising my book on Craigslist, Facebook, and this blog; looking for people to read and write a review I can put on my website. I wanted these reviews to help sell my children’s book, “Yin” “Yang,” and “The Life and Mind of No One Special.” I figured with an abundance of positive reviews it will help generate more sales of my future work. I have sent out over one hundred copies and have only received fourteen reviews back. This is disheartening. I was not under the delusion that every person I sent my book to would follow through with a review. I was shooting for at least a 50% return. I am also not under the delusion everyone would enjoy it. I was prepared to post the good the bad, and the ugly.

I think the reason for this low return could be one of three things; they never intended to read it, they hated it, or they never intended to write a review. I would prefer the latter. I just do not know how such a low sampling of reviews will drive sales. I will be including in all my future books a link to my website where people can post their own review. I hope this will prove to be more effective than my current attempts to find reviewers. If I were to look at the Brightside of this situation I would say at least people are reading my work. That means more than anything to me.

I am going to try a few different approaches once I publish the kid’s book and the two poetry books. I am going to make up a ton of business cards and try to enter the coffee house community. I think this is the quickest way to get myself known in the community and possibly lead to one of my dreams of becoming a songwriter. I am scared to death of trying to do this because I am shy and introverted. I do not know how I am going to stand up in front of a crowd and read. I think I will be able to do this because I am reading my words and I know exactly how to read them; where to put pauses and the proper emotions. I figure if I call around and go to some open mic nights I at least will have the option of backing out if I am not ready. The first step to doing this is printing business cards so I have something to hand out because I do not have the kind of money it would take to purchase large quantities of my books.

My other option is to send my work out to known or professional reviewers who have their own websites and have status in the community. I am not going to do this with my current book, because I do not want anyone to buy it. My wife has found out a bunch of sites where you can find reviewers and sites telling you how to do it. I am a bit overwhelmed with this because there are so many words. I tend to have a hard time following things and soaking up the information. I know I can depend on her to assist me in this area. I have felt at times she does not support my dream, but I realize she is my biggest supporter. Thank you sweetie.

I do know I need to start really pounding the pavement and do these things to get my name out there. The only way I am going to advance is if I bust my ass. I can’t expect readers to just stumble upon my work I really need to get it exposed. I love the idea of doing readings because I will become apart of the community which will be a good feeling. My dream is to be known and respected, and I really need to work harder on doing this. If anyone knows free ways of advertising or knows any other measures to expose my books, website, and blog; I would be grateful to learn from your experiences. I really want this website/blog to take off but I have no idea of how to make that a reality. If anyone knows of places to do readings I would like to add to my list. I will keep people updated if any of my readers would be interested in seeing me do readings.

If anyone is interested in reviewing my book or have any topic questions please go to www.thephilosophyofme.com under the contact me tab. I post responses to fan questions on this blog at least a week from receiving them

Comments
  1. Hey, 14 responses out of 100 is darn good. I used to coordinate fundraising for several progressive nonprofits and we would have been pleased as punch with a 10-14% return rate. We averaged less than 7%.

Leave a Reply

