Where are you Readers?

Posted: October 7, 2010 in Blog, Blogging, Community, Journal, Misc, miscellaneous, Personal
Tags: , , , , ,

 I have been writing this blog for nine months now, and although I have amassed a modest following; I would still like to continue to grow. I have no idea how to do this. I have tried advertising this blog on craigslist, which resulted into a few regular readers. I have set up my Facebook account to post a link in my status update every time I do an entry. The problem with Facebook is my posts can get lost in the shuffle. I do generate a few readers everyday from these links. Out of these two methods I have had the most luck with craigslist. I need to figure out how to expose my words to a greater audience. Is there a trick in the trade I am unaware of? I think the advertisement of my website is key to driving traffic, but I can not afford the steep fees for it. I am sure there are free methods or techniques to accomplish this, but I am blind to it. I am sure I could do some research, but research is not one of my strong points. I find going from website to website tedious. The thought of it right now is giving me really bad anxiety. I also have a hard time retaining the information. I learn better from hearing than I do reading.

I do enjoy writing here, but I am beginning to reconsider my time spent on this endeavor. If my words are not being read then they have not been written. I am at a loss for how bloggers become well known. What have these people done differently than what I am doing now? Is it my scattered and random post which keeps people from clicking the “share” links? I wonder if I am not commenting on enough people’s blogs. I know when I comment it puts a link to my blog or website; perhaps I need to dedicate more time to practice this.

My next two poetry books will be finished in a week or two, and I intend on doing readings around the city. I will be getting some business cards printed up to hand out after my set. I am sure this will usher in some new readers. I really think this thing could spread by word of mouth either by clicking on the share buttons, or just recommending it to some friends, but it is tacky to ask your readers to do this. There has to be a few tricks out there.

Any help would be appreciated.

Comments
  1. Do you write only to be read by others? Many people blog — me included — because it helps them think.

    One way to bring more traffic here is to make sure your blog is listed in the various blog directories. For one, you should make sure you’re listed in the Technorati directory. There are a host of other services as well.

    My blog is listed in, probably, 10 different ones and I receive traffic from these listings daily.

    • Tim Lundmark says:

      Rambling,
      I do and I don’t write here to be read. I enjoy doing these posts, they help keep me creative. I suppose I like to know my words are reaching the public. I am sure this has to do with my obsessive desire to be accepted. I am grateful for the people who do read this on a daily basis. I am a whore to the stroking of my ego.

  2. johanna says:

    I’m still reading. Just not much to say lately… I dont know anything about blogs or how to get people to read them. Good luck with that.

Leave a Reply

