I know I have written about this before but I believe I need to reach my hands out to my readers and hopefully find some much needed feedback.  I have been writing this blog now for eleven months. Even though I have a small readership I am grateful for the few who take the time to read my stuff. I am just conflicted on my identity. I check out other peoples blogs and I notice every one of them has the same general theme. Many of them find a niche and gains readers out of their consistency.  My Taoist idol Rambling  http://ramblingtaoist.blogspot.com/ focuses on one specific theme and he has many readers all over the world. I can only strive to reach is knowledge. I have found a blog focusing on motherhood http://4mothers1blog.wordpress.com/ This is her niche. There are many others like Simone http://spontaneousoverflow.com/wordpress/ who focuses on poetry. Then there is Marcus who is up my alley http://1markt.wordpress.com/ All these people have found their voice.

I am kind of just floating in the breeze. I log on and I write what is ever on my mind. I think Johanna said it best “one day you are writing about theology, then the next write humor.” Is this what I am, my blog reflects my life just random. Should I stick to one specific topic say theology or philosophy? Is my random ways actually hurting me? The last thing I want to do is sit there and focus on one thing and stick to that every time. I will become fake. I want to just be random, and be myself. This blog has been so therapeutic for me. This is just me, but being me is not drawing in readers. I just want to be heard. I just don’t know.

I need your feedback to tell me do I sell out and just stick to one topic? If so what topic should be addressed? Is what I am doing entertaining to my readers? I know I tend to ramble about a topic, because of this are my posts to long? Would I benefit from saying less so I do not lose the reader in boredom? Please help me answer these questions.

Comments
  1. Jessica says:

    The trick to gaining readership is not so much your blog topics, as it is your social media marketing stradegy. Make a list of those blogs you talked about–the ones with niches, and save them. Everyday, get on and for 30 minutes just comment on as many of the blogs as you can. Comment briefly on one recent post of each of the blogs. Eventually, they will begin to comment back, and their readers will start hitting upon your site. Then, as you gain readership, you can see what type of blogs keep coming back. Their interests are your niche, because those are the people who enjoy your writing. 🙂

    Philosophy is a universal subject, so I think you’re fine staying with it. Just remember to always open your posts with a short little intro about why that particular philosophy is relevant to others.

    Good luck, and happy writing.

    Jessica

  2. johanna says:

    I thought you wrote this blog for yourself as a way of releasing thoughts, and feelings. Why worry what others want? I personally like variety. Don’t compare yourself to others. Just do what you will. 🙂

  3. gail says:

    You already answered your question…”i just want to be random and be myself”…”therapeutic for me”….

  4. From my perspective, any person should write on those topics he or she is passionate about. As you’ve noted, I’m passionate about philosophical Taoism and that is the chief focus of my blog. However, I write on a lot of other topics too. I’ve written quite a bit about my struggles with autism and OCD. I write about current events. I write about odd observations and I sprinkle in a little humor here and there.

    When I started blogging in 2005, I followed very few of the so-called “rules” to be a “successful blogger.” If that had been my primary goal, I certainly wouldn’t have chosen Taoism as my chief focus area!

    Jessica offered a very good strategy for encouraging more folks to visit this blog. I agree that, if you spend more time commenting on other blogs, people will follow the link back here. That’s one of the ways (over the years) that I’ve discovered many of my favorite blogs. 🙂

  5. waywardweed says:

    Unless you have a book to sell, why worry about the number of readers? Yeah, it’s an ego boost when people comment, but I guess you need to decide why you are blogging. If it’s just to express your feelings, than the numbers aren’t important. As for a niche, I think random is good unless you have a particular passion.

    • Tim Lundmark says:

      Wayward,

      I have written four books, which are not selling very well. I have had one published by a small publishing house and self published the rest. I have all but given up on my poetry books there is just not a market for them. I do have hope that my children’s book series will get picked up. I am going to hope once I do readings then my poetry may become popular at least on a local level. I am blogging because I enjoy pulling random thoughts and feelings from my mind and just write. I think I do get to focused on visitor stats which I should not. I think what i am hearing is to just keep what I am doing, which to be honest with you is exactly what I hoped I would hear. I think if I were to do anything different then I would be selling out.
      Thanks for the feedback

  6. renxkyoko says:

    I think you should write whatever is on your mind. But that’s just me, and that’s what I do. I am definitely not philosophical, but it doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy reading about it. And that’s why I come here and read you.

Leave a Reply

