“Forget the past- the future will give you plenty to worry about.”
George Allen

Forget the past; wouldn’t that just be so wonderful? Imagine if we could all go to sleep tonight and wake up with our past pain and worries wiped from our memories. I wonder how much differently we would look at life if we were not shackled to our painful past. I imagine we would live life to the fullest not being afraid to try new things, and experience once missed joys. I think our past define who we are and as a result defines our future.

I understand the future will dump on us just as our past has, but this future will soon become the past and before you know it that ball and chain we carry around just seems to get heavier and heavier. The only way to cure the past is through the power of forgiveness.

“Forgiveness is the fragrance that the violet sheds on the heel that has crushed it.”
Mark Twain

I don’t think we can ever forget our past, but we can forgive. By practicing forgiveness we can eventually move beyond our past pains. I wake up every morning and say “today I choose to forgive.” I do not direct this towards any direct individual or situation I just say it. In saying this I am not only forgiving those who have harmed me, I am also forgiving myself. This little daily exercises has really helped me chip some weight off the ball and chain of a painful past. Try it sometime.

Comments
  1. brendamarroy says:

    Hi Tim,

    The trouble with the past is that it keeps showing up in the present. I have learned to practice being present to whatever shows up. As I give my unhealed and unnamed emotional and psychological hurts space and a name, my life gets easier.

    “What we resist, persists,” is a powerful principle. When I can put a name to the fear, anger, and/or sadness that comes up for healing,it loses power. What we’re afraid of is the unknown..name your emotions as they surface and let yourself be with them. The more we push stuff down, the more power it has.

  2. DP says:

    cut, sling, and load.

  3. Jacquitta says:

    This is great in theory, but to practice it is difficult. Forgiveness is a journey sometimes. Not to say it isn’t possible because it is, but its harder when the past lingers or continues to show itself in your present

    • Tim Lundmark says:

      First I would like to welcome Jacquitta to the community. I think I can come up with a general response. Forgiveness is one of the hardest things to accomplish. I know there are many things which happened to me when I was young which I am still having a hard time to fully forgive, and there are countless otherthings I have been unable to forgive about myself. I have made so many mistakes in my life and the ones which haunt me the most are the ones I have caused. It is one thing to forgive someone who has hurt you, its another thing to forgive yourself for hurting the ones you love

  4. jennirey says:

    What tremendous insight.. So many past pains for me and some of them are just so very unforgivable in my book.. When things hurt a child intentionally.. there is no way I can possibly forgive the one who did. I am with you, wish I could just “Take off that coat” be the whole new svelte me with out the nagging dread or the inability to trust..

  5. renxkyoko says:

    To forgive is easy, but to forget is an almost impossible thing to do. Sometimes, I still feel the pain. if we still feel the pain, does it mean we have not really forgiven ?

  6. renxkyoko says:

    Thankfully, the pain isn’t there anymore, but the memory lingers. By the way, what’s your link? I’ve been wanting to add you on my blogroll. (^_^)

  7. Leianne says:

    I agree, you can never truly forget the past, you can push them into your subconscious but they’re still there, just unnoticed. When triggered, they might come out and haunt you again.
    To me, true forgiveness is feeling no anger at all even if you remember what the person did to you; it doesn’t hurt you anymore, you simply just don’t care anymore.

Leave a Reply

