“You know, this is a war of ideology, a war of thoughts and of faith. And we need people to really stand for faith and trust, not hope and change.”
Sharron Angle

In 2010 Sharron Angle received an endorsement from the Tea Party Express, to run for one of the open Senate seats in Nevada. I have about a handful of quotes from this woman, and I can tell you we should all breathe a sigh of relief she didn’t win. The really scary part about all this is she received 44% of the votes. She wants us to abandon hope and change and instead put our trust in faith and God? This woman was close to holding a seat of power preaching religion over progress. This is a belief many of the Tea Party members share. This is a scary concept because their solution to solving our problems is by praying, and putting our faith in a God which may or may not even exist. It worries me a bit that these far right religious nuts are gaining so much ground in the political landscape.

If more and more of these kinds of thinkers take office all logic and reasoning will be thrown out the window. What is in the best interest of our country will be completely thrown out the window. In my opinion representatives with such strong beliefs should be banned from running for office. I would feel more comfortable with an atheist in office, because I know they would make decisions based off logic and reasoning and not on what a fairy tale creature would have them do. I am sure I will get some heat for this comment, but let us not forget Bush’s view that God was speaking to him, and also the religious nuts in the middle east.

This is the part that scares me the most. The leader of Iran Mahmoud Ahmadinejad believes in the concept of a final Holy War, what’s worse is he believes he is the one charged with ushering it in. If we continue to put into office these religious zealots they will see to it this Holy War happens. For many they believe this is necessary for the second coming of Christ. Here is another gem from Angle:

 “And that’s really what’s happening in this country is a violation of the First Commandment. We have become a country entrenched in idolatry, and that idolatry is the dependency upon our government. We’re supposed to depend upon God for our protection and our provision and for our daily bread, not for our government.”

Imagine if more and more of these people take office. It could be realistic that abortions are made illegal. Research such as stem cell will be squashed; meaning many cures will never be known. They will start teaching creationism over evolution in our public schools. This nation will become a Christian nation, but not in a good way. We will come to exile those who believe differently from us, and soon religious freedom will be gone. It is a dangerous thing to elect those into office who hold such strong beliefs. Soon decisions are not made based off reason and logic; they are made based on an imaginary concept with an imaginary symbol of ideology.

“You know, I’m a Christian and I believe that God has a plan and a purpose for each one of our lives and that he can intercede in all kinds of situations and we need to have a little faith in many things.”
Sharron Angle

Yea right!!

Comments
  1. renxkyoko says:

    Tim, I’m a Christian, and I go to Mass every Sunday, without fail. I believe that the Universe didn’t come out of nothing. It’s beyond my comprehension, so all I could think of is God. But I also believe that if Jesus were alive today, He wouldn’t walk with Sharron Angle, nor with these loud mouthed Christians that spew hatred.

    • Tim Lundmark says:

      Renx,

      I think many people including myself who are turned off by religion because of these people. They give religion a bad name. I think many Christians at times forget about the gospels. I do not think Jesus would approve of people getting rich off his name (hello Seven Hundred Club.) I cannot think of chapter or verse but Jesus said that the rich will have a hard time entering the gates of heaven, I think this example is exactly what he was talking about,

  2. rhulshofschmidt says:

    Pretty scary, isn’t it? I truly don’t see how these people can maintain that what they stand for is “Christian values” at all. (I actually wrote about this over the weekend.)
    Angle and Bachmann, Beck and Palin, everywhere you turn there are more of these crazy voices. Thanks for illustrating just where they are heading.

    • Tim Lundmark says:

      Rhul,
      Welcome to the community. I look forward to hearing your opinions. I get scared when religious right wingers are elected into office. I suppose I get scared when religious left wingers are elected as well. What I have seen is the left doesnt seem to push religion as much as rights do.

      • rhulshofschmidt says:

        Thanks, Tim. I’m sorry to hear you lost subscribers for stating honest opinions. I really thought you were quite reasonable in your tone. I’ve found (especially around LGBT issues) that many right wingers of the religious bent are very willing to push their religion loudly but take quick offense when calmly opposed. Sad.

  3. Johanna says:

    You know, I don’t even know what to say. I was having a bad day already then I come to your post. It’s not what you say but how you said it. Did you have to be such a dick? You are indirectly insulting everything I believe in and as such, I really feel hurt because i put so much time, effort, and genuine caring into my posts to you.

    • Traci says:

      I think the point that Tim is trying to make is the fact that if our Government becomes dominated with these Tea Party extremists or far right conservatives, whom many are known to have extremely strong Christian beliefs, there is a great possibility that our nation will be Governed on the basis of these persons beliefs rather than what is in the best interest of the country. These “Tea Party” people are the ones chanting to keep Government control out of our lives yet they want to make abortions illegal and deny same sex couples the right to marry yet they criticize affordable health care coverage. I would think that the laws they are trying to put into place have nothing to do with the best interest of this nation but rather their own personal beliefs.

    • So Johanna,
      If Tim disagrees with the various things he listed, how should he state his opposition to these things in a way that won’t insult you?

      I run into this dilemma all the time. If I state on a blog or wherever that I don’t believe in invisible and unprovable beings, somebody is sure to remark that I have somehow insulted them — that my beliefs are fine and dandy, so look as I don’t state them publicly.

      • Tim Lundmark says:

        Trey,

        Like I said I lost twenty five subscribers because of this post. It is hard to express your views when you feel like you need to walk on eggshells when expressing your point of view. I can get very blunt.

    • Tim Lundmark says:

      Johanna,
      I apologize if my post offended you. I know when I write religious posts I walk a pretty fine line in what I say. All I am doing is expressing my feelings at that moment in time. I do this even when I am feeling spiritual. Ever since you have become a regular reader I always worry about pissing you off. You had reassured me that even if we disagree it doesnt offend you. I was not trying to be a dick by any means. From time to time I may write about things that are against your beliefs and it may have a bit of shock value added to it. I am now back to that same cross-roads I was before where I worry about offending you.

      I lost twenty five subscribers because of my post yesterday

      • You may or may not have lost 25 subscribers. You’ve got to be careful reading your stat sheet. They often are inaccurate or exhibit momentary glitches.

        For example, my blog averages around 375 feed subscribers per day. Every now and then, this number plummets to 240, 200 or 135. The next day it is back up around 375.

        So, did I lose 100 – 240 one day and then pick all of them back up the next? Probably not. The lesser number most likely represents some sort of glitch.

        I suggest you wait several days before trying to ascertain whether or not you ACTUALLY lost 25 subscribers.

  4. brendamarroy says:

    Tim
    I believe the religious right and the moral majority are some of the most dangerous and scary people on this planet. These people seem to live in a bubble that is filled with some type of noxious substance that makes them and the garbage they spout ludicrous. You’d think an intelligent people would see right through it, but then like Bill Maher says, people in this country are downright stupid. It’s easier to remain ignorant than to see and deal with the lie behind the rhetoric.
    If a white, male president was wanting “hope and change” the right wingers would support him.I heard someone say,(I can’t remember who) that if men could get pregnant and have babies, the right to have an abortion would be an amendment to the constitution. Most right wingers want to throw us back into the dark ages.
    It’s obvious to me that this country was not ready for a black president, especially one who actually makes sense. I realize more every day how alive the KKK is in America. Anyway, I just keep hoping people will wake up and realize what’s going on under the covers.
    By the way, I’m not a Democrat or a Republican. I vote for the platform, the record, and how much trust I feel in the person running.

    • Tim Lundmark says:

      Brenda,

      I think a huge issue in this nation is the two party system. Both parties tend to vote along party lines in doing this it makes it almost impossible to progress our nation.

  5. DP says:

    People just need to get over the fact that not everyone is going to believe what you believe. Maybe I’m just tired from a long night out, but I’m so tired of it. I really am.

  6. Johanna says:

    Tim, Im not upset. Just a case of hurt feelings. I’m over myself now. I am taking a break from the internet to focus my time on my family. I really spend far too much time on here! I wish you the best and I hope you are heathy and strong again soon. I guess what I wish most for you is that you know that God loves you with a perfect love that far surpasses your self loathing and sinfulness.

    • Tim Lundmark says:

      Johanna,

      It won’t be the same without you here. I wish you the best with your family. I must say though I am a bit offended by your two comments. I may write some strong opinion posts but I NEVER attack someone on an individual level. I agree what dp said that not everyone is going to believe what you believe. I write posts for and against religion. I go back and forth on faith and the spiritual level. I am just irritated by the personal attack on both of your comments, this has been eating away at me these last few days. Beyond this I really do not know what to say. My feelings are extreamly hurt. I am also sad you and Trey are my fondest readers because you guys have been with me from the begining. It is sad to see you go, but you should have laid off the personal attacks

  7. whiteylawful says:

    Those you think are far-right are not. I am far-right and Christ grants me stewardship–and by my free-will i will uphold liberty. By his ransom on Calvary he gave us common law and we wrote the magna carta by his grace and guidance. The hier of the Magna Carta is the pre 1964 U.S. Constitution. We can fail and forfeit our covenant. Wich is why we need to pray. Try this: Lord Christ whom has risen and defeated death and hell. Let not those whom would for the Lord of this worlds justice – not fall to marxian or anarchic concepts, but may they find true liberty on Calvary. Purging the license we realise proper freedom. In your name…

  8. Johanna says:

    Tim, Rambling made a good comment, “How should he state his opposition in a way that won’t offend you”. I guess there is no way to state your opposition that wouldn’t offend me. It was the abortion reference that really got to me. All of these issues are so deeply personal and it’s really hard to remain neutral on things we feel strongly about. Like I said, I was wrong for feeling hurt. You are welcome to your own opinions and because I’m not perfect, I lashed out at you. I really do wish you the best and I will check back in once in awhile. No hard feelings?

    • Tim Lundmark says:

      Johanna,

      No hard feelings at all. Like I said it is a really sad day for me because you have been with me from the begining. I had to go back and re-read what I wrote about abortion just to see what I wrote. You will be missed, Trey will need to hold down the fort on conversations.

Leave a Reply

